Would you like to save as your currency permanently or for this visit only?
Hotel was clean and comfortable, less than 2km away from the airport. We stayed here due to an early morning flight and it was great fir what what we needed. The restaurant menu was limited in dinner selections and expensive. Prices on menu were to be expected due to lack of food choices in the area.
Extremely nice accommodations very near the airport Nothing
Location is close to airport and room was clean and comfortable. Shower head was so low you had to bend over to wash your hair.
I was given an upgrade because the door handle fell apart when I closed the door. The new room was much nicer and cooler. The wifi is limited and you have to pay for more that 20 gbyts.
4th use of hotel over last 2 years.and will use again in future. Would recommend Biggest downside and only downside,. hot meals served on cold plates. Suggest warming the plates prior to serving. We will not have cooked meals there again as cold before finishing.Worth asking diners prior to serving.
helpful service from reservations staff
It has a shuttle The smell in the room was nauseating. They allot you 200mb wifi and charge $5 after that, sterile hallways.
Rooms are very clean, beds are very comfortabel. Price-quality is very good. Had a great stay. Shuttle-bus drop off is also very handy!
Very friendly staff - always smiling and very approachable
Dining at the hotel. The efficient shuttle to the airport. Also the return shuttle. Car safety.
Size of the room and bathroom excellent Rooms very hot with no way to cool down except a plug in pedastool fan
Friendliness of the staff No
Clean room and helpful staff that provided information about food and the airport shuttle. Free parking. Not the best location - far enough from the airport to require shuttle planning but also far from the city, so you need a car to really appreciate the place. Recommended for travelers on a budget or with time constraints.
I chose the hotel because of its location near to airport, and it is. I did not mind how basic the room and amenities were, as I felt I got the value for which I paid. Room was basic, but the shower leaked on the floor, and you could see water damage in the walls around the shower as well. The sink faucet needed repair as it dripped constantly, and the door to the bathroom left bits of "fluff" on the floor as it was opened and closed. Fortunately I don't have many allergies, or I might have had some issues with the lack of maintenance of the rooms.
Good connection from the airport, hotel minimbus arrived within 10-15 minutes. It can be called from a phone located at Information / baggage storage desk. We were in this hotel a couple of years ago, similar experience.
the very friedly staff , nice old style classic i didnt like the bathrooms too small and very old also the smell of the old carpets , the gym a little depressing should be in top floor with nice view
Comfortable Nothing. All good
Warm, helpful and accommodating staff. Partington's is an excellent 4* restaurant with attentive, professional service and great food. The staff went out of their way to help and provide a room with a great view for NYE Air conditioning not on par with the quality of the hotel. Room fans in short supply when requested.
Quality of hotel, excellent service, location and ease of accessing downtown Auckland. The complementary city shuttle bus was an excellent feature. We were originally allocated a room that had an incredibly offensive smell (mould and damp). However, once notified, the hotel responded promptly, investigated and moved us to another room.
We felt very pampered in the luxurious room and comfortable bed. I enjoyed the welcome fruit and turkish delight too. The dinner in Partington's Restaurant was outstanding (albeit expensive!) We did not have breakfast at the hotel. The car service was very friendly- note the valet parking is $30 a day. The worst that happened was that the staff forgot to replenish the English Breakfast tea and sugar in the room on one occassion!
This is my favorite hotel that I have ever stayed at. It is lovely and well appointed in every respect and all the staff were excellent, friendly, and helpful!
We loved the Club Lounge access & the staff were all truly professional
staff were friendly and willing to accommodate. Chocolates on the pillow and bottles of water were greatly appreciated!! Most comfortable bed i have ever slept in. BOOK this hotel! Only draw back should of booked for longer!!! Will definitely be returning!
the attitude of the duty manager (from Scarborough U K )
central location very expensive, food, drink accomodation
Overall an excellent place to stay, staff were excellent in most instances, we did encounter one staff member who appeared to be very unhappy and consequently was abrupt and dismissive.
The room are very nice and comfortable but the air condition did not work well which is the major deduction on the score The air condition not on
The staff was excellent, as was location in Aukland The hotel is in need of an overhaul. Mostly minor details, and it appears that they are in process.
Went to check in but we had to wait an hour cause their computers were down. They gave us a free drink at the bar so that was nice. Felt the room was dusty especially in the washroom. Staff was friendly. Gym needs updating and pool was only 4.5 deep.
Evening drinks, canapes in Club Lounge. Fast, included wifi. No power outlets near beds or center night table.
Location Expensive at breakfast they charge you for every cup of coffee. Each time it was used the toilet in our room had to be flushed at least twice.
Concierge was very helpful. The photographer for the hotel's pictures was a magician because he certainly did an expert job at brushing up and photo shopping the website pictures. The hotel was VERY WORN and looks seedy. The carpets were dirty, furnishings well used, and walls scarred and in desperate need of painting. The mediocre breakfast buffet cost $31 per person and didn't include omlettes. I should have done my homework on this one.
Great location, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Easy walk to Queen street shops, restaurants, Sky tower, and Auckland harbor. Just used it as a base camp to visit things around the city. Easy bus from the airport (35 min), bus stop 2 blocks from hotel. No need to rent a car. Had to leave
Room layout and view.. A variety of food choices. Efficient Internet. Parking. I'm neutral on food options.
The hotel let me check in at 8 am, after having flown all night from San Francisco. This was fantastic and made my day!
The shower was nice. Concierge was great. Incompetant booking staff and rude reception staff.
Location was great ,shopping , casino ,entertainment They took my floor towels but did not replace them . its miner
The hotel was within easy reach of all the places we wanted to visit
the view was awesome service was pretty average.
Reception and concierge staff were helpful and efficient, especially appreciated because the lobby was busy with passengers who (like us) had just disembarked from a cruise ship. The hotel was contemporary, immaculate, and had a large sunny window. The bed was comfortable. The hotel has its own airport shuttle service. It was centrally located, right at the Sky Tower and a short walk to the Auckland Art Museum, Albert Park, and Aotea Square. The Sky Tower is a stop on the tourist-oriented bus routes. The waterfront is about 15 - 20 mts walk.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They did not have any internet access except when you were at the lobey. It also was very large and did not have a warm and cozy feeling. It was very beautiful. The only other thing was that they put me on a smoking floor even when I had expressed that I had to be in a no smoking room. They did move me but it took 2 moves to get me in the right room. They also over charged me on the room but when I pointed it out they did refund the money
Loved the little cocktail bar off the hotel lobby Details of booking reservation (room + complimentary breakfast) were not known by restaurant or check out staff until pointed out by us i.e. would have been charged if we said nothing.
clean and near to the city also the casion nothing
Service and people. They wanted to help.
Location was good,Standard was good,service great,food excellent,Enjoyed our stay. Broken bench in sauna
Our room was large as was the bed, wonderful shower and lots of fluffy towels - loved the floor to ceiling window. Hotel staff were very knowledgeable and helpful about car hire, restaurants and airport shuttle service. We stayed in the hotel on two occasions and I was disappointed with both the harbour view and the city view - you pay more for a harbour view. The hotel is very centrally situated - I was on the 14th floor (the lowest floor where you get a harbour view) and my view of the harbour had a great deal of city in front of it - it was a lovely view of the city with the harbour in the distance but not the view of the harbour I'd paid extra for. I also had a city view room on the 20th floor, where I had a very clear view of the bedrooms of the hotel next door but not the city. Don't pick this hotel if you do actually want a harbour or city view - you may be disappointed.
good rooms bit austere lobby
Hotel staff at check-in and check-out, helpfulness of concierge and storage of our luggage after check-out before we left for the airport was excellent.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The concierge on arrival made us feel very welcome. Excellent service in Knights restaurant Our room did not smell very nice
Jacuzzi The meal was really expensive downstairs..
Location , friendly staff. The valet service was prompt and professional.
Great Service. Prestige. The room was a little bit noisy of external noise during the night.
Walking distance from cruise dock, concierge staff excellent, allowed early check in, assisted with all questions/concers Close to busy street, heard a little street noise late night/early morning.
very genuinely friendly but unintrusive service. The room was well appointed clean and comfortable and it was much quieter than other central city hotels i have stayed at. I thought the pool and spa area was very nice. I did not get the complimentary newspaper i requested at check in and the paper i received free at another event venue was cleared away by housekeeping before i had even read it. also hotel phone answering was rather slow
I enjoyed Japanese TV show dinner is expensive and not so much delicious
The pillows - all too low and no options.
Great location so central to everything, great bed and bed linen The t.v is in a cupboard which limits the space in the room as the cupboard door is open for t v viewing. The standard of hotel we did expect a flat screen t v
Nothing We booked this hotel for New Years Eve in Auckland. Besides being overpriced for the night in question, they charge ridiculous valet fees, put us in a handicap room with no bathtub, horrible view, and construction all around, put bacon on my Ceaser salad after I specifically said I was a vegetarian, brought the salad on filthy plates covered in chocolate from what I can only assume was the previous meal. Upon checkout no one even bothered to ask how my stay was. I asked for a manager and voiced my complaints. No attempt was made to remedy the situation.
The peace and quiet
The dinner menu was awesome!!! Having to leave!
This place is just a gem. It was spotless. ALL the staff were very friendly and helpful. Modern/updated. Great room. Free Bikes (didn't get to use). Free Airport Shuttle. Cozy little bar w/ Free Wifi. Great prices. It was the perfect place to end our stay in NZ. I loved this place. It worked out perfectly for us, but it is not too close to the city so if you have luggage and if you want to spend the day in Auckland, you will have to figure out where to keep that luggage for the day (and then get back to it). Cab fare via Discount Cab was a flat $35 (a good deal esp. if you get stuck in traffic) and once we were there it was SO easy to relax.
Friendly staff Confort in rooms, specially the bed and pillows Complimentary wifi in public areas Continental breakfast buffet 22 NZ dollars, too much for only cereal, cheese, bread and some fruits The full breakfast was 27 NZ dollars and it was added, eggs, beans, pancakes, sausages, tomatoes Food is expensive
Excellent restaurant and good location for airport
Its closeness to both the national and international airport and the facilities offered by the hotel to meet both incoming and outgoing flights.
Very comfortable. Good menu. Convenient for business. Would stay again if need to conect to overseas flight. No
The service was premium and it is an excellent location for departures returns from Auckland International Airport.Great place for car storage as well.
Clean ; comfortable bed; some staff friendly as well as efficient. Shower over bath so dangerous and old fashioned; noisy aircon fan; restaurant waiter didn't know thr size of drinks or what a pint was and didn't ask how the meal was or anything; food in restaurant for dinner was way overpriced and the pork belly was grossly fatty and inedible.
Great facilities. Very handy to the airport with free shuttle
The location is very convinient for international travellers arriving and departing from Auckland. It also provides a bus shuttle to and from the airport for travellers that need it. Being more so classified as an airport hotel, unfortunately there was a few inconsiderate guests staying making unneccessary noise in the late eveing/early hours of the morning. This is however, does not really reflect on the hotel itself.
Location very near to the airport. The rooms are too small for international travellers, which are supposed to have some luggage.
Proximity to the airport and reasonably prized. Excellent transport arrangement (free shuttle bus to airport running every 15 mins); cleanliness of rooms No telephone in room
Friendly staff and efficient check in. Rooms clean and comfortable Skip breakfast.
close to airport hassle free and free shuttle
Helpful friendly staff and a nice place to stay overnight when travelling to the airport the next morning. A real bonus is having a restaurant on site when you don't have a car. Food fairly basic but that is realised in the price charged.
Transfer bus and handy location to airport. Hotel is pretty tired and in need of refurbish
Free airport parking [for two weeks]. Budget price etc. Needs redecorating.
Could not beat the price and convenience to airport with free shuttle. Not a place for those who must have the Four Seasons luxury.
coseness to airport and free pick up and drop off
the close proximity to the airport & the staff customer treatment
location When we arrived, they said our booking was cancelled. They said they sent an email to booking.com, but it came out that it was not true, they couldn't show us the email. Finally at 2 o'clock in the morning we got our room.
Service was good. Price good.
This hotel has been much criticised but it will be used mainly by people using the airport for a one night stay. We arrived at the airport after midnight, rang the hotel who responded, shuttle arrived in 20 mins, checking in was quick, all rooms on ground floor therefore easy to take bags to room, our roomwas a good size with a third single bed and place to put luggage, room was clean, double bed was large and comfortable, clean sheets, cooked English breakfast served in dining room next day for $17NZ. So the hotel provided everything we wanted. Dining room needs redecoration. You would probably only want to have breakfast there.
The standard of my room was quite poor, cracked tiles in the bathroom, stained toilet bowl, peeling/bubbling paintwork in various places, etc. The food that I ordered was very basic and the alarm clock did not work.
The staff were available, pleasant and helpful without being overtly present.
the staff were very friendly and helpful .We had a nice room with sea veiws and we could walk into the city
The hotel was very well laid out and designed feeling spacious for a hotel located in the city centre Hotel was priced reasonably and that was the reason I chose it. The internet prices they charged however bordered on criminal. I was there for 3 days and paid approx ~$200 NZD for minimal use of the internet and to download some emails. My annual internet fee is less than this for unlimited access at home.Absolutely disgusted
Location Concierge Staff was Excellent - always finding great ideas for things for us to do. Breakfast and meals on the property were OK - but I expected something better.
The location to centre Auckland, access to the motorway to get to other places. Room service was excellent!! The food was outstanding. On arriving at reception, I felt the receptionist did not over extend themselves with information, as this was a first stay for my family. An example was where and which floor was breakfast as this was inclusive in the stay, what were the times and the last morning we were there it shut 1/2 an hour early and missed breakfast. I got more local information from the man who delivered the bags to our room. The staff were polite and professional but lacked the Christmas Spirit a "Merry Christmas" greeting on the day would have been welcoming. On arriving to our rooms the temp was 28 degrees - quite unbearable! knowing the room was booked it would have been nice to have the air condition on.
Streamlined, colorful, mod, bustling 21st century stay with all the creature comforts. Staff went above and beyond when they had a boxed breakfast waiting for us when we had to leave extra early for the airport and couldn't utilize our morning breakfast buffet pass. The only thing negative about Sky City is there is not enough seating in the lobby if you just want to relax and people watch.
Premium King Room was nice and spacious..Good location Signage from the parking garage is horrable..And gave us the wrong room first
Location. gym and quality of rooms
The rooms were nice and big, very clean with everytghin you need. The bed was huge!!!!! The price of the internet was terrible - it is partly a business hotel with the covention centre next door, so I was appauled at the price. In todays timesd wireless should be free in Hotels such as this one
The room was comfortable and surprisingly cozy in spite of the mainly black-and-white color scheme.
Room service,cleaners all make for a very relaxing holiday.
The staff are very friendly and happy to help even when they had a huge coach load of travellers turn up! There are a lot of restaurants to choose from and the tea/coffee facilities are plentiful. It is close to the IMAX and Civic for evening entertainment. Really minor point - No hotel writing paper
My daughter and I loved your hotel but having stayed in hotels and b and B's around New Zealand wifi was available free. It is a rip off in this day and age to charge. The food was excellent and all the other facilities were superb you would be better adding a small amount to the cost of the stay and having wifi inclusive.
We appreciate the concierge service and the appartment very nice... fabulous... The carte of menu Restaurant is not excellent.... very basic.
Excellent pool & gym. Nice large balcony. Walk-in shower rather outdated hotel. Not bad but for a Hyatt you might expect some more.
The staff where very helpfull
Friendly Staff Dirty room, broken toilet, no control of children running arround the pool and unsupervised children in the gym, room nothing like the pictures when we booked.
The health club, pool and breakfast were all terrific A little bit far from harbor area restaurants but the park-like setting helped offset this.
Location on the steep hill is not the best for walking around town. Please add to your review question .. travelling as.... something like other.... as none of your categories is correct for two business people travelling.
At the reservation counter at the time check in, the information and treatment was not properly taking care and we have to ask many basic question which is normally taking care by other international hotels or i thingk there will be an ignoring or classing people by their nationality which was upset me a lot in the beginning, later on it was ok.
To be honest I wasnt happy about the room. The queen size bed was actually two singel beds pushed together, making the centre of the bed uncomfortable. Also there was mould in the shower and the all the air con did was dry out the air not cool it. This was my first time in a five star hotel and i was disappointed. Ive stayed at a bed and breakfast that was cleaner and more comfortable than this at half the price.
The cleaning that was done each day. We had booked through booking.com and on arrival there was no booking for us but they gave us another room for the same price except it was not the same kind of room we had booked and was also two single beds pushed together which was very uncomfortable and disappointing!!!
The food was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet, it really is the best in Auckland, (We have stayed in several similar standard hotels in Auckland). The management staff were extremely professional and helpfull when we had an issue with our room. We unfortunately were double booked and as it was New Years Eve there was not another residence suite available. This was extremely dissappointing as I booked the room months in advance as I knew it would be busy on New Years Eve plus we were flying in from Ireland and wanted an extra special room for the occassion. Secondly, we had huge trouble with the toilet in our room, after one flush at around 9pm it would not stop flushing and was near overflowing. We had maintenance in our room trying to fix the problem for hours. This was suppost to be a romantic New Years Eve after a long journey and it turned out to be a disaster. One that never would have happened had we been given the room I originally booked.
Loved the spa, pool and workout facilities. Also the free wifi is great and the lobby has a really great energy.
Friendly staff, location was good for us - conference near airport Although we received comfirmation from you, our room was not booked when we arrived. We were unable to have the rooms that we booked.
The location is less than a half hour away from the Airport and relatively easy to find.. The shower was not as clean as I would have liked. There was a barking dog that stoped me from sleeping.
Attended a Salvation Army national Conference.
I stayed at this hotel as a stopover so am unable to comment on the above, however, i was pleased with the service I recieved, wake up call,transport to and from the airport.
The management so understanding and warm hearted No BBQ area this would have been great the carparking wasn't the greatest it's good when your vehicle is parked outside your room
The room was big. The booking system needs improvement. Our booking via booking.com did not get through although we got a confirmation email. Heater does not work.
The unit was good and quite. Beds were well made and the room was clean and tidy. The buildings have not been well maintained, looks like a leaky home. The managers are great people but it must be hard keeping up with appearances.
Only stayed overnight but the staff we friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable.
Easy check in and out. Car park on premises. Friendly staff. Clean accommodation. None noted.
the hotel was good value and conveniently close to the airport. it was clean and comfortable with heaps of parking the sign that said "quality inn" was unlit and as we arrived at night we overshot the hotel twice as we could only read "silkwood manor" sign a little confusing for new arrivals..
It was perfect for arriving into Auckland International Airport at night and getting the free transfer to the hotel - the room is very basic but it was fine, there was an electric blanket which was appreciated - I left the next morning and got the free transfer to the airport again. It was perfect for what I needed the hotel for - which was sleep
The staff were friendly. The pick up and drop off at airport. The cost of the breakfast. $15.00 for an omlet and juice, tea or coffee. Toast was an xtra this seemed a bit over the top, toast should have been part of the cost.
Home-cooked food No soundproofing
Very basic, in need of update, which we were advised was in the near future. The property showed signs of age which was a pity as the staff were fantastic, which helped the place look better than it was. We operate 4 1/2 star apartments in Melbourne, so we are very harse critics, but the place is in dire need of a refit. Very 80's, which was a shame as the staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and overshadowed the accommodation by a mile. Compliments to the Chef.
Ease of access to city
The way the shuttle kept us waiting in the cold at 1.00 in the morning and then eventually arrived with the name of another motel on it !!! Smell of rotten carpet, Leaking ceiling and musty mouldy bathroom, my wife refused to shower unless I killed the blowfly in there. Bed felt damp.
Staff generally unhelpful. No continental breakfast available until 7.00am. Poor condition of transfer shuttle. Rooms not comfortable and dust everywhere
We arranged our booking in August 2008. requesting Twin Room.When we arrived Dec 08, we were taken to a Double, but that was changed when we reminded management of our stated preference.
staff good and helpful
Excellent location. Very good accomodation. However poor service in the restaurant: one hour wait before dinner was served, again one hour+ wait for breakfast (two eggs over easy, plus coffee, nothing else). Complained and received apologies; then received free continental breakfasts. See above regarding service at the restaurant.
Friendly staff nothing is to much trouble The pole in the bedroom
Don´t waste your money. We paid more than 600 NZD, the view we were promised to have, we didn´t get. There was a huge ship in front of our balcony as close as we can even read the passanger´s newspapers. We felt like being on railway station, because of terrible noise because of cargo they were loading. Ship left at 9 PM but there was another one in front of our windows at 6 AM till we checked...
Good water views. Excellent response from management to a problem in the hotel.
The hotel recommended things to do and even called a bike rental place for us! We had a great view of the harbor and it's a short walk to ferries and resturants!
location is where the praise begins but also sadly ends there. It was a little annoying to not find a toothbrush in the bath! Also, do hotels still use bar soap?
the staff were beyond excellent with their customer service. We had difficulties with travel and they were very supportive. The facility is beautiful. One of the worst desserts I've ever had and my breakfast salmon omelette was very fishy tasting. There are not really good views despite the location. We paid for a water/harbor view, but it was really a city view with view of a boat. Most of the rooms look either onto the city, other rooms or over the street and businesses across the street. Seems like at least the restaurant should be located where it has great views - but it has no views, unless you sit outside.
Great staff, wonderful room!!! :0)
I think the french approach is good but dont over do it which happens when having a meal in the resturant
A very new therefore modern and well appointed hotel adjacent to the international airport. Very convenient for those who need to overnight before flying. Someone had switched off the fridge - the beer was hot!
Decor, gym, breakfast, Proximity
Staff was very professional, friendly and helpful in answering our questions regarding nearby shopping, dining and airport information. Rooms were modern in design, but still very comfortable. Gorgeous view of the sunset over the harbor was unexpected for a hotel directly across the airport. We never once heard sounds of air traffic despite being directly adjacent to the airport. The television channels were limited.
Location! I just walked 50 feet from the international terminal and I was there. Nice too that the public bus stop is right there too. Pricey! I believe that the pricd was more than any others near ghd airport. I was traveling solo and getting in late do opted for this Novotel.
We love this place as it is right at the airport and there aren't any other hotels that are right there. There is drop off parking at the hotel but you will have to arrange long term parking through them or directly with the Auckland airport. My only real gripe is that we didn't manage to get any deals that they offer as they seemed to finish early. We found a cheaper rate and the website of the hotel mentioned that they will offer a cheaper rate. We phoned the hotel but they wouldn't do this. We ended up booking it through the ZenHotels website. We did have an issue with the payment of the room but using the ZenHotels Android app we made a call to them and it was sorted.
The beds were comfortable and ample parking. Very noisy environment outdoors late at night. Poor response to the staff in answering the telephone in the lobby area and taking care of complaints. We we arrived to our room, it was not prepared. The entry door card keys only worked sometimes.
Very good location in the CBD. Hotel is way over-priced for what it is. You can book a better hotel with much better facilities for 1/2 the price.
Great staff, decor and food! The free breakfast was superb and the coffee decent. Enjoyed the soaking tub. The soaps were locally sourced and cruelty free and smelled wonderful. Coffee could be better but that's all!
The rooms are incredible. The bed is comfortable. Most of all, the staff is welcoming and accommodating. Great location to walk to the Wintergardens, sky tower, ferries, and amazing restaurants.
The staff were very helpful and our suite was roomy and confortable. Breakfast was good and the service excellent.
very good staff
Great location and spacious apartments. Hardly recognised any Accor Gold benefits.
Fantastic apartment accommodation in a super downtown location Car parking was a lottery
The staff were always very pleasant and helpful The parking system could be a problem
fantastic room layout, view and kitchen was handy