Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car hires at San Francisco Airport

Driver's age: 26-65
jue. 18/7
jue. 25/7
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 45%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices at San Francisco Airport

Economy£28/day
Compact£33/day
Intermediate£28/day
Standard£35/day
Full-size£34/day
Full-size SUV£55/day
Premium£41/day
Luxury£44/day
Convertible£55/day
Intermediate SUV£44/day
Standard SUV£49/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Pros

"I loved my rental !"(in 1870 reviews)
"The s were clean and new."(in 1870 reviews)
"Great "(in 213 reviews)

Cons

"Avis has TERRIBLE ."(in 163 reviews)
" without online reservation required"(in 1799 reviews)
"The was old, the cost was high, and the check-in was the WORST!"(in 1817 reviews)
Overall rating6.2 OkayBased on 62 reviews
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.1
Value for money
6.3

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
2
0
0
0
0
15
10.0
The clerk was very helpful with the whole process.Reviewed 7 Jul 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
The company we used was Budget which is an affiliate of Avis. I guess the name Budget is exactly what you get. I ordered a Ford Transit van for a two week road trip. Instead, we got an old 15 passenger bench seat van. In this van we found d beer, wine, antifreeze, kids books, food wrappers and crumbs, and several interior tips and broken pieces. I called to request an exchange for safety and while accommodating I had to take time out of my vacation to drive an hour away to exchange the van because they would not do it at the location one mile from me. So, we exchanged the van only to be put into a van that we actually did request but with a broken windshield with broken glass on the dashboard and a gas leak. I called, AGAIN, and asked for an exchange and demanded they bring me the new van and take the broken one. They initially asked me to drive, the broken van, two hours away in order to return it. That was out of the question. In the end, they brought me the third van which lasted the rest of the trip and was exactly what we needed. It should not have taken me three vans to get it right - countless phone calls and time on hold, not to mention awful and rude customer service to rent a van. I’d also like to me til , the rate that I locked in on my original rental would not longer be offered or accepted because I needed an exchange, TWICE, due to unsafe and dangerous vehicles they initially put me in; with each exchange came additional fees and a high price. I will NEVER use budget, Avis, or any of their affiliates again.Reviewed 13 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Waited for two hours to get the car! Their system is slow, their service is not optimal nor friendly! Just bad experience for a lot of money! Will not use them again.Reviewed 6 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff at the pickup was very friendly and helpful.Cons:I was unable to find the return location, tried calling and no answer. Ended up being late by 20 min and getting charged for a whole extra day. The drop off process was pretty bad.Reviewed 18 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Staff was greatCons:I tried to change my reservation via the phone, but was unable to reach anyone. I ended up just dropping the car off a full day early, but was charged the full amount.Reviewed 28 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Jay from the Bay was awesome.Cons:Nothing! I got a hybrid and it was sweet. Put more of these into your fleet!Reviewed 30 Dec 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:The car was old, the cost was high, and the check-in was the WORST!! They had five people standing around and it took me an hour to get a car!Reviewed 11 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:The two hour wait at pick up was RIDICULOUS. Avis has TERRIBLE customer service.Reviewed 25 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Poorly trained staff, tried to upsell insurance even though I’d already purchased some insurance on kayak site (agent told me that was worthless). At checkout they tried to charge me $660 for $330 quoted charge. Took a half hour to get “preferred customer” counter to reinstate quoted price.Cons:CHECK YOUR FINAL RECEIPT BEFORE LEAVING LOT. Poorly trained staff on front and back end (at SFO and PDX), rude manager, and worst of all they double-charged me when I brought the car back. Took half hour at “preferred customer” counter to get them to take double charge off and charge quoted priceReviewed 22 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
7.2
Cons:SFO is an expensive airport to rent a one way vehicleReviewed 21 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
9.6
Cons:Clarity around terms “preferred”Reviewed 15 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Good car to value ratioPros:Car was a good brand and good quality.Cons:nothing.Reviewed 10 Dec 2018
review fromkayak

Avis car hires near San Francisco Airport

Address

780 Mcdonnell Road

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 650 877 6780

Address

230 Harbor Way

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 650 588 5585

Address

1198 El Camino Real (next to Bart)

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 650 588 1139

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis at San Francisco Airport

  • In case you intend to tour San Francisco intensively, you should rent a car from Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport. This is simply because, with a car rental, you can easily move from one destination to another. Some of the said destinations include Golden Gate Park, a 1017-acre park that consists of gardens, trails, and museums; Ferry Building, a Mecca for farmers, vendors, and food enthusiasts; the Exploratorium, a museum of science, technology, and arts; Coit Tower, a landmark offering 360-degree city views; San Francisco Botanical Garden, a green refuge with rare plant collections; and San Francisco Cable Car Museum, a museum in the city’s Nob Hill neighborhood that boasts explanatory exhibits of the San Francisco cable system.
  • At Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport, you’ll get a rental car that suits your needs quite easily. This is because it features various car rental types, including standard, full-size, and premium sedans, full-size and standard SUVs, premium coupes, convertibles, economy rentals, and intermediate rentals. The rental you select should fit you, your passengers, and your combined luggage. Thus, you should rent an economy rental if you intend to use the car alone and a full-size sedan if you intend to use the vehicle with at least three other adults. Additionally, the rental car you hire should be able to reach the destinations you plan to visit easily. This is why you should hire a full-size or standard SUV if you visit off-road destinations.
  • Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport allows its guests to pick the car models they want. Thus, if you want to hire a particular car model, you’ll be able to do so. However, you should note that this is not guaranteed, as cars at this rental agency are hired out subject to availability.
  • The counter for Avis car rental at San Francisco Airport is within the airport’s Car Rental Center. Getting to this Car Rental Center is quite easy. Once you land, proceed to the baggage claim area. Here, you will note signs leading to the AirTrain. Follow these signs till you get to the AirTrain platform. On this platform, get on board the Blue Line Train to the Rental Car Center. Once you alight, proceed inside the Car Rental Center. The counter for Avis car rental is on the third level, south end of the building. Thus, use the escalator headed to this level once you enter the Car Rental Center.
  • 25% of our users found hire cars from Avis at San Francisco Airport for £40 or less
  • Book your hire car at San Francisco Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy hire cars from Avis at San Francisco Airport are around 35% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis at San Francisco Airport

  • Does Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport offer After-Hours returns?

    If you want to return your vehicle after Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport closes its counter, you can do so, given that this car rental accepts After-Hours Returns. The After-hours returns process is quite simple. On the date you’re set to return your rental, follow the signs to the airport’s car rental returns area. Once in this area, park the vehicle in one of the spots dedicated to Avis. After picking up your belongings and locking the vehicle, all that is left is to place your vehicle's keys in the key drop box in the return area.

  • What documents do I need to rent a car from Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport?

    If you want to rent a car from San Francisco Airport Avis car rentals, you can do so, provided you’re above 21 years old. You should note that if you’re below 25 years, you’ll pay an additional underage fee. Other than being over 21 years, you must have a valid driver’s license and a credit card registered in your name.

  • What is Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport cancellation policy?

    If you wish to cancel your reservation, you must cancel and request a refund through the online site you used to make the reservation. If you cancel a reservation 24 hours prior to the rental pick-up time, you will incur a $50 processing fee. In contrast, if you cancel a reservation during the 24 hours before the rental pick-up time, you will incur a $150 processing fee.

  • How much does it cost to hire a car from Avis at San Francisco Airport?

    On average a hire car from Avis at San Francisco Airport costs £49 per day.

  • What is the most popular hire car from Avis at San Francisco Airport?

    Full-size (Ford Mustang Convertible or similar) is the most frequently booked hire car type from Avis at San Francisco Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis hire cars at San Francisco Airport?

    780 Mcdonnell Road is the closest Avis hire car location to San Francisco Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 650 877 6780.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from San Francisco Airport (SFO)?

    Yes