Book Avis hire cars in San Francisco

San Francisco, CA, United States
11 Dec — 18 Dec
Same drop-off
San Francisco, CA, United States
Sat 11/12
Noon
Sat 18/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in San Francisco

£90/dayEconomy
£61/dayCompact
£63/dayIntermediate
£65/dayStandard
£66/dayFull-size
£82/dayPremium
£96/dayLuxury
£99/dayConvertible
£90/dayStandard SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Francisco

Overall rating8.0 ExcellentBased on 147 reviews
Cleanliness
8.4
Comfort
8.2
Overall
8.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.8
Value for money
7.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
21
15
7
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.0
Avis tried to overcharge at returnCons:We returned a couple of hours late, and rather than charge us for an additional day, which would have been acceptable to us, Avis tried to charge us almost 3x the original contract price. In the end, and after some arguing, Avis agreed to waive the penalty, and charged us a fair price. But it was a hassle getting to that point, especially since we were on a schedule (had a flight to catch) I've rented a lot of cars (mostly for business, through my company), and never once had an issue with a return that was +/- a few hours, but I guess when you rent through a 3rd party agency you have to be a little more careful about following the contract to the letter. We will be more careful for future rentals, but it's a shame that an otherwise decent rental experience, with a company who I have generally been loyal to (I am an Avis Preferred member), had to end on this note.Reviewed 24 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
AwesomePros:The easy pick up and drop off. The car itself was fantastic. Great on gas and comfortable to drive. The price was also awesome.Cons:N/aReviewed 12 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
GoodPros:I love the serviceReviewed 16 Sep 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:Easy drop-off.Cons:The person who received the car did not pay any attention to the comments and complaints I had about the car we were just returning. Customer service fail.Reviewed 26 Oct 2015
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Car available without online reservation required.Cons:Took at least a half an hour for car seats to arrive. Then after loading kids and all our stuff, we turned on the engine and it said maintenance required. Had to get another car and then wait for car seats again. Wish they had upgraded us to a bigger or nicer vehicle for all the trouble. Whole thing took about hour and a half to finally get us on the road.Reviewed 22 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:We had the exact car we had reserved on the internet. Also there were no additional fees, it was charged as it was specified in the reservation.Cons:The clerk was a bit pushy to sell the insurance. I had a card with chip but only swiping was supported and maybe because of this my card didn't go through and I had to use a friend's card.Reviewed 23 May 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Cons:Kayak doesn’t offer an option to skip the line so we had to wait an hour just to show our drivers license. Additionally I had called customer service in advance to change my reservation to pick up the car at 11 instead of noon and was told no problem but the agent wanted to charge me an additional day even tho I was only going to have the car 8 hours totalReviewed 4 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
7.2
Cons:SFO is an expensive airport to rent a one way vehicleReviewed 21 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:They tried to charge me for an extra hour at $90 even though I turned it in an hour early. They didn't even say anything about it just printed the receipt and acted like nothing had changed.Reviewed 8 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:I loved my rental car! It was exactly what i requested.Reviewed 6 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
9.2
Avis had the best car rental deal in townPros:We got ourselves a full-size sedan to travel up and down the Pacific coast, and the car handled great. The car, a Toyota Camry, also was able to accommodate all of our hefty luggage with no problem. The Camry was stingy on gas, which saved us a lot of money when we had to fill it up upon its return to the Oakland airport. The young lady there was very helpful in getting us on our way to the shuttle, too.Cons:Avis needs to let people know that it's located inside the Hilton. The mailing address is completely misleading, and there is absolutely no signage to help you find the place or to distinguish it from all the other car rental places on O'Farrell Street. Also, the woman behind the pickup counter kept trying to upsell us to an SUV after the sedan was already paid for and reserved. Don't do that, especially when the SUVs are gas hogs and gas is over four bucks a gallon!Reviewed 19 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Did not get car due to lacking credit card.Cons:AVIS did not accept debit card, despite state otherwise. Probably because of employee's incompetence. Rental failed. Went to Hertz instead, worked (even without reservation).Reviewed 5 Dec 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San Francisco?

780 Mcdonnell Road, Avis car hires

Address

780 Mcdonnell Road

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:59
Thursday05:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:59
Saturday05:00 - 23:59
Sunday05:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 650 877 6780

Address

675 Post Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 17:00
Sunday07:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 929 2555

Address

500 Beach Street, Suite 120

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 441 4141

Address

333 O'farrell Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 292 4045

Address

821 Howard Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 227 4227

Address

5 Embarcadero Center

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 395 4758

Good to know

Most popular location

780 Mcdonnell Road

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

£33/day

Good deal

£27/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San Francisco

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in San Francisco for £27 or less
  • Book your car hire from San Francisco in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Compact car hires from Avis in San Francisco are around 43% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San Francisco