Book Avis hire cars in New Orleans

New Orleans, LA, United States
19 Aug — 26 Aug
Same drop-off
New Orleans, LA, United States
Fri 19/8
Noon
Fri 26/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in New Orleans

Economy£39/day
Compact£39/day
Intermediate£35/day
Standard£50/day
Full-size£50/day
People carrier£95/day
Premium£61/day
Luxury£70/day
Premium SUV£69/day
Intermediate SUV£60/day
Standard SUV£62/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past hours.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in New Orleans

Overall rating6.0 GoodBased on 41 reviews
Cleanliness
6.9
Comfort
7.1
Overall
6.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.8
Value for money
6.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
7
3
3
11
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Car was not ready at pickup , we had no option but to take a car that was in my opinion not comparable to a ford edge. But as avis was closing in the next hour we were forced to take a car less than expected. The car had several issues. One of the tires half-flattened daily and all tires were worn out, hardly any profile. Also issues with the door locks. First time in my life a very bad experience with Avis. Tried to change the car but for these kind of issues Avis cannot be reached.Reviewed 28 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Our reservation was for 10a and we were not in a car until 11a because there was no car ready for us. The desk person really didn't know how to creatively problem solve and had to wait for a manager who then had to call another location to bring a car - that could have been done at the time the desk person knew there wasn't a car for us to pick up. We were an hour late into getting started and then as a result got caught in a storm that had we left on time we would have avoided. Overall very poor - what is the point of a reservation and appointment if you have no car to rent? If we needed to go to another location you just simply should have told us that and saved us an hour of our life.Reviewed 13 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
1st of all, no one appreciates poor personal skills at a customer service face to face situation. After that, was instructed to the appropriate number to get my vehicle. I see a wheel cover less banged piece of garbage with significant vehicular damage to its quarter panel, a vehicle I personally would be embarrassed to be seen in! I went right back in and told the agent exactly that saying no way am I taking that car. Without an apology, perhaps even expecting me back, they subsequently gave me keys to another vehicle about 4 spots away, a beautiful Hyundai Sonata with all the bells and whistles (except Sirious radio). Why Avis , who I really respect as a rental company, would not have given me that car originally I have no idea. Because of the “2” vehicles involved, my ratings are what they are. Turned out well, but not without unneeded issues. Take that car off the lot Avis, don’t embarrass the company.Reviewed 21 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Pickup took an hour because the car was not ready. Drop-off was quickReviewed 30 May 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
I was told to drop off the vehicle at the Avis location on 2 Canal in New Orleans. When I arrived there was no one on-site from Avis a as and a handwritten paper sign on the counter saying that location was closed for the day. I was trying to contact customer service and was just getting the run around and being transferred over and over again until enough time was wasted that I just hung up and realized that google was more effective and easier than dealing with Avis customer service line. I had no idea what to do and was needing to catch my flight, There was no drop box for me to leave the keys or anything. I wasn’t going to leave them on an open counter so that anyone could grab them and take the car. So I googled the nearest location which was out of my way. We had to cancel the Uber I scheduled to take us to the airport from the Canal Avis location. Finally we arrived at the Avis location I had to googled and turned in the car. We called an Uber and headed to the airport. We were late because of this whole ordeal and my family and I had to physically run through the airport to catch the flight. I will never use Avis again and also will make sure to go onto my social media accounts to tell everyone I know about my experience with Avis.Reviewed 22 May 2022
review fromkayak
8.0
The clerk at the counter was helpful but it wasn't clear if it was open when we arrived. The car we were given clearly had not been cleaned, with trash in the passenger door and food crumbs on the floor. It's no big deal but the person who came to acknowledge the situation barely apologized. We rented the car for only one day and the clerk indicated that his location was open only until 3 pm but that we could return the car at another location. Later during the day we weren't sure anymore if he had said we could return it at any time so we tried to call Avis in New Orleans, only to waste our time waiting for a national assistant to take our call. The line was poor and we were cut off before I could get the requested info, so we just drove back to New Orleans and returned the car before 5 pm (official closing time of second location in NO). Turns out there is a key box for after hour returns but it is not mentioned on the website.Reviewed 6 Apr 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Nichole is a wonderful lady. A keeper!Reviewed 26 Mar 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Kayak listed a bunch of cars that were unavailable for the date I selected and allowed me to book one. Thankfully, the lady at Hertz called to let me know that the car (or any car) wasn’t actually available in New Orleans and they would let me know if one came up. I had to scramble to get a flight from New Orleans to Destin, which cost $700. It sounds like a lot of people in the back two rows of the plane with me had the same problem because of your company. I don’t plan to use your business ever again unless I’m forced to, and if I have to use your business, I’ll call the other party to see whether the stuff you’re selling is actually for sale. 🤬😤😡😠:(Reviewed 12 Mar 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Car wasn’t available, waisted my timeReviewed 1 Mar 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
It would've been nice to know it was 30 minutes and a $45 cab ride away from the airportReviewed 30 Jan 2022
review fromkayak
3.9
They didn't have a car available for me when I had made a reservation a week in advance. I had to wait in the lobby until a car showed up. When a car finally did show up, I realized it had a leaking tire that ended up making me late to where I was going and I had to change the tire wearing a suit after attending a wedding. Why was this something that was missed? How was this not checked before releasing the car to me?Reviewed 12 Oct 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:We received a call on the way to DTW airport Detriot by a man saying there was a mix up with our reservation as they were closing at Noon. Note I made this on March 20 and he is calling me on April 3. We cannot make it before closing as we land at 4:00 so he modified our reservation ON HIS OWN ACCORD to MSY and a new price of $1110 vs the $483.88 Cannot get any help at counter because it was made thru Kayak / Priceline and can’t get a hold of anyone. Finally I call Avis and she gets me an unpublished deal of $797.79. I received a reminder email on April 2 too. Someone did a bait and switch on me and owes me $313.91. I expect an email or call ASAP Jeff Murray (616)840-2039 or jjmurray7@aol.comCons:See aboveReviewed 12 Apr 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in New Orleans?

1317 Canal Street, Avis car hires

Address

1317 Canal Street

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 504 523 4318

Address

2 Poydras Street

Hours

Friday09:00 - 15:00
Wednesday09:00 - 15:00
Thursday09:00 - 15:00
Monday09:00 - 15:00
Tuesday09:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 504 581 6901

Address

300 Poydras Street

Hours

Friday09:00 - 15:00
Wednesday09:00 - 15:00
Thursday09:00 - 15:00
Monday09:00 - 15:00
Tuesday09:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 504 581 6901

Address

2 Canal Street

Hours

Friday09:00 - 15:00
Wednesday09:00 - 15:00
Thursday09:00 - 15:00
Monday09:00 - 15:00
Tuesday09:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 504 581 6901

Good to know

Most popular location

1317 Canal Street

Most popular car type

Mini

Average price

£106/day

Good deal

£62/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in New Orleans

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in New Orleans for £62 or less
  • Mini car hires from Avis in New Orleans are around 64% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in New Orleans