Book Avis hire cars in San Juan

San Juan, Puerto Rico
30 Jan — 6 Feb
Same drop-off
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Sun 30/1
Noon
Sun 6/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Juan

Overall rating7.1 GoodBased on 35 reviews
Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
7.2
Overall
7.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
7
3
3
8
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Cons:N/AReviewed 22 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing, you canceled on me 1 hr before arrivalCons:YesReviewed 4 Jan 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Puerto Rico is a dreamPros:Avis attention to detail and customer satisfactionCons:Everything was great. No problemReviewed 21 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:It would have been helpful to have had him review the toll collection process and availability of a speed through sticker on the car.Reviewed 2 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Incorrect pricing for the extended renting period.Reviewed 12 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:I never got the car because the light was flat late because I want to clock in on stupidReviewed 7 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Horrible customer service. Couldn't get anyone on the phone trying multiple days and time leaving messages and never hearing back. They messed up our reservation and literally told us "not their problem." Would never use again.Reviewed 10 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Worst customer service with a 5 hour waitPros:The car was clean and brand newCons:We had a "reservation" at noon but were told when we arrived that it wouldn't be ready for about 30 minutes. We just got some lunch only to return and find 7 more people waiting for their noon "reservations" as well who were all apparently on the list before us. The employees told us they simply didn't have enough cars and didn't have any idea when they would be returning, as if that wasn't literally the only thing their job description entailed. They also continued to tell each new customer that it would be 30 minutes when it was clear they were lying. When, after over 3 hours I asked if they could even guarantee a car for us as our hotel was in a town 2 hours away, she said "I hope so." That was it. Finally, after over 5 hours, we got a car which was much smaller than the one we requested. At that point we just wanted anything to get us out of the 3x5 box that was their office, so we crammed in and drove away. They didn't offer any condolences or money back or anything for having wasted an entire day of so many peoples vacation. Worst experience I've ever had traveling as this seemed like the norm for them to let people think they're making a reservation and then having nothing for them. Absolutely terribleReviewed 30 Dec 2015
review fromkayak
2.0
Avis gave my rental car awayPros:I like NOTHING about Avis and their Customer service sucks.Cons:When I arrived on 12/25 IN San Juan Puerto Rico to pick up my rental car at the Convention Center Sheraton the Avis rental office was closed. There were 2 cars sitting in the lot. No one from the Avis office would respond to calls to open the office so I could pick up the car I rented. Customer service at the airport location advised that no cars were available on the island. I never got my car. I spent over $900 dollars in extra hotel rooms, taxis and a shuttle to get to and from Rincon on the west coast.Reviewed 5 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Poor customer serviceCons:unfortunately, was unable to pick up the car. Spoke to the agent and told him that we may be a few minutes late (flight was landing at 4pm) he immediately stated that he was out the door by 4:30 (please note that we were only going to be probably 5 to 10 minutes late). Also, it was not in the immediate vicinity and that we had to take a taxi because they did not offer shuttle services which is something that we did not know about. Needless to say, we were very put off by his attitude especially when we had called ahead of time to let him know, guess he needed to get out on time. Booked another car with another car rental.......Reviewed 19 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:They gave me the car I reserved. The transaction was fast. The price was exactly what I was expected. The employee was kind and nice. I recommend Avis.Reviewed 12 Nov 2019
review fromcheapflights
9.2
Avis at the SheratonPros:Great service and no hassel at all when collecting or returning the car.Reviewed 23 Feb 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San Juan?

1050 Avenida Ashford, Avis car hires

Address

1050 Avenida Ashford

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 787 721 4499

Address

200 Convention Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 787 993 3633

Good to know

Most popular location

1050 Avenida Ashford

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

£26/day

Good deal

£25/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San Juan

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in San Juan for £25 or less
  • Compact car hires from Avis in San Juan are around 10% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San Juan