Book Avis hire cars in San José

San José, Costa Rica
3 Aug — 10 Aug
San José, Costa Rica
Tue 3/8
Noon
Tue 10/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in San José

£100/dayPick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San José

Overall rating5.5 OkayBased on 16 reviews
Cleanliness
5.5
Comfort
5.5
Overall
5.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.5
Value for money
5.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
3
3
4
4
0
Find reviews that mention:
3.6
Pros:Car had good air conditioning that got us comfortable quickly in the Costa Rican heatCons:Bait and switch pricing, wound up being forced to pay an additional $25 a day on top of the insurance I paid when I reserved the carReviewed 10 Mar 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:everything was excellentReviewed 26 Feb 2019
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:AVIS added a mandatory fee for insurance that was equally high as the advertised rental price. It doesn't make much sense to advertise a price for a rental if it's not possible to rent the vehicle for that price or anything close to it.Reviewed 3 Feb 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Forced us to subscribe their expensive insurance despite having paid one onlineReviewed 6 Jan 2019
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:Check in and check out were fastCons:Car could be in better condition ( probably it suffered a small crash in the previous rentals)Reviewed 5 Jan 2020
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:Drop off process was quick and easy.Cons:I was sold collision insurance during the online checkout process only to be told at the counter that the insurance was worthless in Costa Rica and I should call and cancel. However I couldn't call to cancel since the international call would have cost more than the $9/day. Ka-yak=Ripoff! Never agaiReviewed 19 Jan 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
Good car. Bad servicePros:Car was high quality. Comfortable.Cons:Extra charges. Bad service. Simply a ripoffReviewed 9 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experiencePros:Friendly and great customer serviceCons:NothingReviewed 14 Mar 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Scammed againCons:I ordered the SUV through Kayak and purchased the insurance based on all the tripadvisor website comments on the driving there. I was quoted $50 for the insurance which made the car rental about $375. when I arrived in San Jose, Costa Rica, AVIS told me the insurance was a scam and that they don't honor it if anything happens to the vehicle. The total cost for the vehicle turned out to be close to $700 Double! AVIS made it better by giving us a 4x4 SUV for free. AVIS was very nice. I would not trust Kayak to rent another car.Reviewed 8 Jan 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:The GPS didn’t work at all.Reviewed 6 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
6.4
Insurance will get youPros:Car is exactly what we had expected and requested, looked great at firstCons:Quoted on Kayak as rather cheap, but after the required insurance purchase, turned out to be 3X as much as the initial cost.Reviewed 16 May 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Deceiving info in KayakCons:Kayak said Avis pickup was at terminal. Which is false , we had to take a 10 min shuttle Kayak offered insurance which wss not with Avis , so I ended up paying Kayaks insurance plus Avis insuranceReviewed 19 Mar 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San José?

1219 Hotel Crown Plaza Corobici, Avis car hires

Address

1219 Hotel Crown Plaza Corobici

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+506 2296 0167

Address

Cruce San Antonio De Belen

Hours

Monday05:00 - 22:30
Tuesday05:00 - 22:30
Wednesday05:00 - 22:30
Thursday05:00 - 22:30
Friday05:00 - 22:30
Saturday05:00 - 22:30
Sunday05:00 - 22:30

Phone

+506 2442 1321

Address

San Jose Sabana Norte

Hours

Monday13:30 - 17:00
08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday13:30 - 17:00
08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday13:30 - 17:00
08:00 - 17:00
Thursday13:30 - 17:00
08:00 - 17:00
Friday13:30 - 17:00
08:00 - 17:00
Saturday13:30 - 17:00
08:00 - 17:00
Sunday13:30 - 17:00
08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+506 2509 5980

Good to know

Most popular location

Cruce San Antonio De Belen

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

£47/day

Good deal

£28/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San José

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in San José for £28 or less
  • Book your car hire from San José in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy car hires from Avis in San José are around 64% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San José

  • On average a car hire from Avis in San José costs £47 per day.

  • Intermediate (Kia Sportage or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in San José.

  • Avis has 3 car hire locations in San José. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes